The Brașov Council Square (Piața Sfatului in Romanian, former Marktplatz in German) obtained its right to hold markets in 1520, but it has been the place for annual markets since 1364, being visited by merchants from the country and abroad. The houses surrounding the square speak of a rich history. A pillory, in the middle of the square, was used as a means for public humiliation, punishment and scorn. Witches were also punished here, but the head of the shoemaker guild, Stefan Stenert, who opposed the entry of the Austrian army into Brașov, was also beheaded here in 1688. Till 1892 there were two wells in the square. The most important building in the square is the Council House, which was built in 1420 and is located in the middle of the square.
The Orthodox Church of the Assumption (June 9th, 1895) in the Brașov Council Square.

The imposing building of the "Black Church" in the centre of Brasov was built during the 14th and 15th century. The construction started in 1383. In 1421, when the construction work was nearing its end, Turkish raids caused extensive damage to the church as well. The church was inaugurated in 1477, while the tower in 1514.
The Catholic services in Schwarze Kirche (Biserica Neagră or Fekete templom) were replaced with Lutheran ones during the Protestant Reformation, coinciding with the influence exercised by Johannes Honter. A statue in memory of Honter was later erected by Harro Magnussen on one side of the building. The structure was partially destroyed during a great fire set by invading Habsburg forces on the April 21, 1689 (during the Great Turkish War). Afterwards, the church of Saint Mary became known as the "Black Church". A large part of the inner structure was modified during the 18th century, in Baroque style (breaking with the original design).

No comments: